Internet Grins & Giggles
Posted By: Sgt. Mom @ 1758 on 2005-11-21

The following appeared in my hotmail inbox this afternoon; there is a zip-file attached, who among you thinks I am fool enough to open it?

But I will listen to any amusing guesses as to what these idjits were after.

Dear Sir/Madam,

we have logged your IP-address on more than 30 illegal Websites.

Important:
Please answer our questions!
The list of questions are attached.

Yours faithfully,
Steven Allison

*** Federal Bureau of Investigation -FBI-
*** 935 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Room 3220
*** Washington, DC 20535
*** phone: (202) 324-3000

7 Comments

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://www.ncobrief.com/index.php/archives/internet-grins-giggles/trackback/

  1. Want me to phone FBI HQ and ask for “Steven Allison?” It’s just a local phone call for me.

    Or you could just forward me the e-mail. I run Suse Linux 9.1 Professional. It’s immune to the ordinary garden variety malware.

    I could make some rude comments about the sender, but I want to go watch Stargate SG-1. I think Amanda Tapping is hot!

    Comment by Chuck Divine — 20051121 @ 2059

  2. Sure… Whatever will afford you amusement. I’ll forward it in the morning. Please post any amusing results, of course.
    I think idiots like this ought to be bashed, frequently, and with force and vigor.

    Comment by Sgt. Mom — 20051121 @ 2157

  3. We got hit with 2000 of these at work today (caught and deleted)…the ZIP file is a trojan virus.

    Comment by LCB — 20051121 @ 2201

  4. The FBI has issued a statement to the effect that this is a scam, according to Fox News.

    http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,176298,00.html

    Comment by Joe Comer — 20051122 @ 0008

  5. Mine came from the CIA. Go to http://us.mcafee.com/virusInfo/default.asp?id=description&virus_k=102139 to read McAfee’s threat report on this virus. Hat tip to our IS department at work.

    Radar

    Comment by Radar — 20051122 @ 0632

  6. Isn’t pretending to be an FBI agent a criminal offense?

    Comment by Robin — 20051122 @ 0736

  7. They have “it” by now, I’m sure, but forward it to:
    spam@uce.gov
    I’m pretty sure this qualifies as fraudulant…
    Include full headers.
    Also forward to your ISP, and, if you can figure it out, the originating ISP.

    Comment by D.W. Drang — 20051122 @ 1006

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.