The following appeared in my hotmail inbox this afternoon; there is a zip-file attached, who among you thinks I am fool enough to open it?
But I will listen to any amusing guesses as to what these idjits were after.
Dear Sir/Madam,
we have logged your IP-address on more than 30 illegal Websites.
Important:
Please answer our questions!
The list of questions are attached.
Yours faithfully,
Steven Allison
*** Federal Bureau of Investigation -FBI-
*** 935 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Room 3220
*** Washington, DC 20535
*** phone: (202) 324-3000




Want me to phone FBI HQ and ask for “Steven Allison?” It’s just a local phone call for me.
Or you could just forward me the e-mail. I run Suse Linux 9.1 Professional. It’s immune to the ordinary garden variety malware.
I could make some rude comments about the sender, but I want to go watch Stargate SG-1. I think Amanda Tapping is hot!
Comment by Chuck Divine — 20051121 @ 2059
Sure… Whatever will afford you amusement. I’ll forward it in the morning. Please post any amusing results, of course.
I think idiots like this ought to be bashed, frequently, and with force and vigor.
Comment by Sgt. Mom — 20051121 @ 2157
We got hit with 2000 of these at work today (caught and deleted)…the ZIP file is a trojan virus.
Comment by LCB — 20051121 @ 2201
The FBI has issued a statement to the effect that this is a scam, according to Fox News.
http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,176298,00.html
Comment by Joe Comer — 20051122 @ 0008
Mine came from the CIA. Go to http://us.mcafee.com/virusInfo/default.asp?id=description&virus_k=102139 to read McAfee’s threat report on this virus. Hat tip to our IS department at work.
Radar
Comment by Radar — 20051122 @ 0632
Isn’t pretending to be an FBI agent a criminal offense?
Comment by Robin — 20051122 @ 0736
They have “it” by now, I’m sure, but forward it to:
spam@uce.gov
I’m pretty sure this qualifies as fraudulant…
Include full headers.
Also forward to your ISP, and, if you can figure it out, the originating ISP.
Comment by D.W. Drang — 20051122 @ 1006